North Carolina Contractor Continuing Education Requirements
The North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors (NCLGBC) requires licensed general contractors to complete 8 hours of annual continuing education annually. The 8-hour CE requirements include:
- A mandatory 2-hour course produced by the NGLBGC with information about changes in the laws and rules and other content applicable to general contracting.
- 6 hours of elective courses from an approved continuing education provider, such as PDH Academy.
The CE requirements apply to all general contractors holding a building, residential or unclassified contractor license classification. One of their qualifiers must complete 8 hours of continuing education each year to renew their license. For the Unclassified license, it shall be the qualifier who has passed the Building exam. These continuing education requirements do not apply to highway and utility contractors.
Continuing education classes are offered January 1 through November 30, annually. No continuing education classes can be offered during the month of December, so it is best to get your continuing education done early so you don’t run out of time. Failing to complete your continuing education and license renewal requirements can render your license invalid, which can lead to business interruptions and late fees.
The Importance of Continuing Education for Contractors
Having the right tools for the job is important, but so is having the right knowledge. Being up to date with your continuing education means that you have the latest information to perform your job responsibilities and grow your skills. Contractors are always in demand and having the proper training and education will give you a leg up over the competition.
Types of CE Courses Offered for North Carolina Contractors
PDH Academy offers three options to complete the CE requirements for your license renewal. Our approved North Carolina continuing education provider number is 0077.
How to Renew Your North Carolina Contractor License
- Select either the self-paced online courses or the webinar or classroom date of your choice to complete the required 8 hours of continuing education by November 30.
- After you complete the class, you will receive a certificate of completion to maintain for your records. PDH Academy will submit the hours directly to the NCLBGC for you.
- File your application for license renewal with the NCLBGC.
Why Choose PDH Academy?
PDH Academy has been an industry-leading continuing education provider since 2013. Our state-approved courses give you the most up-to-date information so you can advance your career. We have experienced instructors who are real-world professionals, subject matter experts, and leading instructional designers. You can view their bios here.
Our gold-standard customer support team is dedicated to providing you with excellent service. They’re here to guide you through your continuing education and license renewal process.