PDH Academy is an approved training provider by the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors. Our approved courses are listed below.
Tennessee Residential Contractor Continuing Education Requirements:
Contractor licenses are renewed biennially and issued for two (2) years. The expiration date is on the last date of the month, in which the license was originally issued. The state requires eight (8) hours of continuing education for residential contractors to be completed every two (2) years.
Tennessee Residential Building Contractors FAQs
Which licensees with the Board for Licensing Contractors will be required to obtain Residential Continuing Education (RCE)?
Contractors licensed after January 1, 2009 with a Residential building classification as follows: BC-A; BC-A/r; Spec Homebuilders; and those with a combination BC-A,b(sm) license classification.
Will contractors having a BC or BC-b (small commercial) classification be required to have RCE to renew?
No, those with a BC classification would not be required to obtain RCE to renew. Those with a BC-b (small commercial) classification will not be required to obtain RCE to renew, unless, they also have a “BC-A” as part of their license, such as a BC- A,b(sm) combination classification.
When will a residential contractor licensee need to start obtaining and reporting their RCE?
Contractors expiring on or after January 31, 2022 will be required to provide 8.0 of RCE hours at the time of renewal.
How many RCE hours will be required to meet the requirements for residential contractors to renew once it has been implemented after the phase-in period?
The law requires 8 hours of RCE to be completed every two (2) years.
What are the ways to satisfy the RCE Requirement?
Up to 8 hours of RCE can be obtained through online, or in-person continuing education courses offered by board approved providers.
4 hours of RCE can be obtained by being a member of a board approved professional trade organization.
When should I complete my RCE?
In order to renew your residential contractor license without issue, you will need to complete your RCE before submitting your license renewal application. License renewal applications are due 30 days before your license expires, so you’ll want to make sure your RCE is completed well in advance of that date.
How will residential contractors need to report their RCE?
At renewal time, the residential contractor will need to include their RCE certificate(s), along with the rest of their other renewal documents (such as insurance, financial statement, etc.). The online renewal application will have a place to scan and attach.
Are you approved by the state of Tennessee?
Yes. We are approved by the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, click here to see the approved providers.
Do you offer any training that is not online?
We do not offer any classroom courses for TN contractors. We find that most students prefer to complete their education online on their computer, smartphone, or tablet.
Do you provide me with a certificate of completion when I finish your continuing education course?
Yes, all graduates of our Tennessee contractor continuing education course will receive a certificate of completion. We can either email, mail, or fax the certificate to you.
Do you renew my residential contractor’s license for me?
No. Completing your continuing education credits does not complete the renewal of your license. Once you have completed all of your required continuing education, you also must pay the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors license renewal fee. We cannot do that for you.
Can I take this course on my phone?
Yes, our courses are mobile-compatible. You can finish your continuing education with ease using your phone, tablet, or computer.
What if I still have questions about completing my Tennessee continuing education?
No problem. Just call our continuing education specialists at (888)564-9098 or email us at email@example.com and we can walk you through what you need to do to complete your Tennessee contractor continuing education requirements.