In Minnesota, there are no previous educational or experience requirements to apply for a contractor’s license. However, the applicant must pass a multiple-choice exam or designate an employee who will take the exam and become licensed. Being prepared to take an exam can avoid retakes and allow relicensing sooner. It is important to choose a contractor school that offers continuing education courses that can be completed conveniently and are preapproved by the state board.
What Does the Initial Minnesota Contractor Exam Include?
The exam consists of 110 questions split into two parts. One part focuses on questions about the law and business. The second section focuses on the contractor portion and contains questions about building codes and construction techniques. The individual taking the exam must get 35 answers correct in each section in order to pass. It costs $50 to take the exam. Testing places are located in St. Paul, Duluth, Detroit Lakes, Owatonna, Granite Falls and St. Cloud. A complete list of exam dates and locations can be seen here.
Contractor Licensing in Minnesota
Residential, remodeling and roofing contractors are licensed in Minnesota by the Department of Labor and Industry. They offer the choice of licensing the contractor or that person may designate a company employee as the qualifying person. The qualifying person is responsible for taking and passing the required continuing education courses every two years in order to maintain that license.
When you take the exam, you need to provide two forms of identification such as driver’s license, military ID or state-issued ID, and bring along the confirmation number that was given to you when you registered to take the test. The contractor trade portion of the exam is open book. However, exam materials will be supplied at the testing site, and you cannot bring your own. During the exam, you may not ask questions of the proctor, talk or take notes and smoking is prohibited. You will be supplied with erasable tablet and scratch paper at the test site.
Can Any Employee Serve as Qualifying Person?
The qualifying person in a company can be the owner of the business or an employee if the business is an individual proprietorship. If the company is a partnership, it can be either of the partners or the manager. In an LLC, the head manager or an employee who serves as manager can serve as the qualifying person. If the company is a corporation, the chief executive officer or managing employee may serve.
What Forms Are Required for Minnesota Contractor Licensing?
- A disclosure statement is required that includes information on business owners, partners, officers and members.
- A designation form must be filled out for the qualifying person.
- A copy of the business license renewal is needed.
- A copy of the certificate proving liability insurance, either DLI or ACORD 25.
- Statement from the office of the Minnesota Secretary of State that shows active business status.
- Certificate of compliance with Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law.
Taking Continuing Education at a Contractor School
PDH Contractor Academy makes it easy for contractors to get relicensed with preapproved continuing education courses online. Our 14 hours of courses include a seven-hour OSHA Safety Course and the seven-hour Residential Construction Course. Together, they fulfill Minnesota’s requirements for license renewal and at substantial savings.
One of the advantages of online courses is that it gives a contractor the ability to study wherever and whenever it is convenient. An additional advantage is that the contractor does not have to pay for the courses until they are completed. Once successfully completed, we report the results to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry for you. You will also receive a copy of the completion certificates for your files. Start a course to save money. and see how simple it is.