There are numerous reasons why an individual might want to get a contractor’s license in Minnesota. Being a contractor gives you the ability to operate your own business. The better your reputation grows, the more money you can make – and job growth is steady in this field. Learning how to get a contractor license in Minnesota may not involve as much as you think. You could be on your way to a new career.
Where to Get Licensed
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry offers information on getting licensed as a residential building contractor. Business entities qualify to apply for a license, and guidelines are available on persons in a business can qualify. The sole proprietor of a business can be licensed also. Licensing criteria is found in the revised Minnesota Statute for 2015. Independent contractors working for a company do not qualify. Only those workers for whom the company is paying federal taxes.
Continuing Education Requirements
Once licensed, Minnesota contractors must take 14 hours of continuing education every two years in order to maintain their license. When looking for contractor schools to renew your license, it is important to ensure that their continuing education courses are approved by the Department of Labor and Industry in Minnesota.
Applying to Take the Test
A prelicensing exam is required by the Department of Labor and Industry in order to obtain a contractor’s license in Minnesota. Applicants are given four hours to finish the test and must score 70 percent or or higher to pass. Applicants can either submit an application or apply to take the test online at the DLI. The application fee of $50 must be submitted along with the application. Offices where the test can be taken are located in St. Paul, St. Cloud, Duluth, Granite Falls, Owatonna, and Detroit Lakes. If you fail the exam, you may it again within 30 days, but you will have to apply to retake the test and pay the application fee again.
Cost of Licensing
In addition to the $50 application fee, effective as of July 1, 2015, the fee for a residential building contractor license costs $160 plus $400 for the recovery fund. In other words, a new licence costs $560 for a Tier 1 contractor’s license. A Tier 2 license costs $665 and a Tier 3 license costs $760. All contractor licenses expire on March 31st each year and are issued from April 1st to March 31st. You are solely responsible for renewing your license.
What You Will Find on the Test
This exam has been used since 2010. While you are taking it, you will be supplied with the 2015 edition of the state residential code to use as reference. Exam questions have been modified to keep up with current code. You will be presented with 110 multiple choice questions. As stated earlier, you must get a score of 70 to pass. Some questions have more than one right answer. Those questions are marked as such. Exams given on any particular day may not be the same and may vary as to questions asked.
Areas That May Be Covered on the Test
Questions are designed to test your knowledge in a number of areas. These may include plans, envelope criteria, safety, site work, foundations and footings, and carpentry. Your knowledge of exterior finishes, roofing, foam plastic insulation, safety on the job site, interior finishes and associated areas such as plumbing, electrical, and energy are also included.
Becoming a licensed contractor opens the door to new opportunities. Contractor schools may be the ideal way to study for the exam. To easily access and complete your required continuing education courses, PDH Contractor Academy offers just what you need online. After completing your courses, you receive a certificate of completion and the results are reported to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry to make your renewal quick and easy. To get started, browse courses by state.