The state of Rhode Island is strict about its licensing and continuing education requirements for contractors. It is smart to constantly update your knowledge base to make sure that your business can stay competitive, but continuing education is also the law in Rhode Island. Here are some tips to help you make a success of continuing education.
Do Not Ignore Licensing
In the state of Rhode Island, a contractor that works without a license is fined $5,000 for the first offense and $10,000 for each repeat offense. If you are a licensed contractor but you hire a non-licensed subcontractor, then you will be subjected to the same fines. In Rhode Island, it is best to know the licensing and continuing education laws to avoid hefty fines.
Make Sure The Right Person Takes The Continuing Education Classes
When a contractor takes a licensing test in Rhode Island, the test is taken by a principal assigned by the contractor. The principal is the one who is responsible for making sure that all continuing education requirements are met by the contractor on or before renewal deadlines. According to the law, employees of the company are not allowed to take continuing education classes in lieu of the principal.
Be Sure To Take All The Required Hours
Each contractor in the state of Rhode Island is required to take five hours of continuing education to fulfill licensing requirements. The state has strict course requirements that all contractors must fulfill, and all five hours must be completed by the deadline.
Know Your Renewal Deadline
In the state of Rhode Island, every contractor’s license is issued for a period of two years. While the state will send a reminder prior to the expiration of a contractor’s license, contractors should not expect the state to be overly aggressive in sending renewal reminders. All continuing education requirements must be satisfied prior to the renewal date or the contractor’s license could be in jeopardy of no longer being valid.
Take Your Courses Online
Certified educational websites such as PDH Contractors are an excellent way to take your continuing education courses and make sure you meet your requirements prior to renewal. When you take your courses online with PDH Contractors, all of the results are electronically submitted to the state of Rhode Island to make renewal easier. PDH Contractors even provides a hard copy certificate in case a contractor needs to prove to the state that the continuing education courses were taken.
When you start a course with PDH Contractors, you know you are following all of the guidelines as set up by the state of Rhode Island. You can feel confident in knowing that the state will get your results and that you will be all set when renewal time comes around. PDH Contractors also offers a full library of information that you can use to help your business compete in a constantly changing contractor environment. Meet all of your licensing, continuing education, and informational needs when you utilize the services of PDH Contractors. Start a course today!