Florida is a popular state for contractors because the weather allows for year round work, and there is usually work for contractors to do in large parts of the state. Some of the tourist areas of Florida are constantly remodeling or adding to their developed grounds, and there are always new condos and other residential properties going up all around the state. Florida is a prime destination for contractors, and many contractors who are planning to move to Florida have plenty of questions about the continuing education requirements for the state.
How often do I have to satisfy the continuing education requirements for my Florida contractor’s license?
According to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, contractors in Florida must take the prerequisite continuing education courses once every two years to keep their licenses valid.
How many hours of continuing education classes are required for renewal?
The state of Florida requires 14 hours of certified class time be logged before any licenses will be renewed.
How are the continuing education hours broken down?
The state of Florida is not strict on what the 14 hours of classroom training will consist of, but it must contain at least one hour each on the topics of workplace safety, worker’s compensation insurance, best business practices, Florida construction and contracting laws and guidelines, and the advanced modules of the Florida building codes.
I hold multiple Florida contracting certifications and licenses. How many times will I have to take continuing education classes to maintain my licensing?
In the state of Florida, you only need to complete one certified 14-hour continuing education course to keep all of your certifications and licenses valid. It will not be necessary to complete one 14-hour course for each license and certification.
How do I know if my course is approved?
As long as the continuing education course you are taking falls under the guidelines of Chapter 468, Part XII of the Florida Statutes, then you are taking a course that will allow you to legally maintain your contracting license.
Are there any topics I should add to my continuing education course?
According to PDH Contractors, a one hour class on wind mitigation technologies will help you to take advantage of the growing need for wind energy contractors throughout the state of Florida.
How do my class results get reported to the state of Florida?
Any organization that is certified to offer the 14-hour course necessary for maintaining a contractor’s license in the state of Florida is also responsible for reporting your class completion information to the state as well. Please check with the company offering the course to make sure that they report course results.
Where should I start looking for certified Florida contractor licensing courses?
Your best bet is to start a course with PDH Contractors to get the 14-hours you need to keep your license. The state of Florida contracting courses offered by PDH Contractors are certified and offer all of the various instructional segments you need to legally maintain all of your Florida certifications and licenses.